Local Bodies in Coimbatore

Coimbatore district is one of the popular districts in Tamil Nadu that is situated on the foothills of Nilgiris. Moreover, the city is the major exporter of cotton textiles, automobile spares, iron steel, aluminium castings, electric motors and pumps. This beautiful city is administered by the Coimbatore Municipal Corporation and it is the headquarters of the Coimbatore district. 

Basically, the city is divided into five administrative zones such as North, South, East, West and Central. Each of the administrative zones is subdivided into 20 wards in which a councillor is appointed to manage the zones.

Government Bodies in Coimbatore

The Mayor of Coimbatore is elected by the city’s voters and the executive wing of the corporation is controlled by a Corporation Commissioner. Further, the city is divided into two revenue divisions (Coimbatore & Pollachi) and six taluks that consist of 295 Revenue villages. 

The government bodies of Coimbatore are classified into various divisions that include Corporation (1), municipalities (3), District Panchayat (1), Panchayat Unions (12), Town Panchayats (44) and Village Panchayats (229).

Coimbatore City Municipal Corporation

Government Bodies in CoimbatoreCoimbatore City Municipal Corporation is considered to be the major civic body that governs the heritage city (Coimbatore) in Tamil Nadu. Also known as Coimbatore Corporation, the city Municipal Corporation was established in the year of 1866. 

It is great to know that the municipality elected its first women Chairman named K. Thankamma Jacob in 1934. Also, the corporation received an award for the category “Best Corporation” in Tamil Nadu.

Administration of the Corporation

At present, the Coimbatore City Municipal Corporation is headed by Tmt. G. Latha I.A.S (commissioner) and Sri. S. Sivarasu (Deputy Commissioner) and people can contact her directly them any queries in the city. The council of the municipal corporation consists of Mayor, Deputy Mayor, Councillors, Commissioner, deputy commissioner, district planning committee and standing committee. Coimbatore City Municipal Corporation offers a wide range of services for various sectors such as public health, water supply, revenue and town planning.

List of Departments

The engineering department of the corporation mainly focuses on maintenance of roads, under ground drainage system, street lights and water supply. Some of the common facilities offered by the corporation include parks, bus stands, public toilet, storm water drains and much more. 

The revenue department is controlled by assistant commissioner guided by five assistant revenue officers and bill collectors. Every citizen is required to pay the tax in a timely manner and the tariff of the professional tax can be checked in the official website of the corporation.

Office Phone-0422-2302323,0422-2390261, 2390262, 2390263

Deputy Commissioner
Office Phone-+91-422- 2390261, 2390262, 2390263

Assistant Commissioner Personal
Corporation Main Office, Corporation of Coimbatore, Coimbatore - 641001.

Assistant Commissioner Accounts
Corporation Main Office, Corporation of Coimbatore, Coimbatore - 641001.

Assistant Commissioner Revenue
Mr.Senthilkumar  Rathinam
Corporation Main Office, Corporation of Coimbatore,Coimbatore - 641001.

Zonal Assistant Commissioners
T.Muthuramalingam- EAST ZONE
Trichy Road,Singanallur

M.Sekar -West Zone,
Ramachandra Road,R.S.Puram, 9489206055

N.Annadurai- South Zone,
Palakkad Main Road,Kuniyamuthur(POST)Coimbatore, 9443799212

R.Mohanasundari- North Zone
R.T.O Office Road,Gandhipuram, 9489206045

M.M.Kanagaraj- Central Zone
Hosur Road,Coimbatore, 9443799236

Mr.J.Mariya Selvam
Corporation Main Office, Corporation of Coimbatore, Coimbatore - 641001.

Corporation Main Office, Corporation of Coimbatore,Coimbatore - 641001
94437 99220

Corporation Main Office, Corporation of Coimbatore, Coimbatore - 641001.

Mr.P.Senthilkumar (In)
Coimbatore - 641001

Executive Engineer (Planning)
Corporation Main Office, Corporation of Coimbatore,Coimbatore - 641001

City Health Officer
Corporation Main Office, Corporation of Coimbatore, Coimbatore - 641001.

City Engineer
Corporation Main Office, Corporation of Coimbatore,Coimbatore - 641001.

Corporation Main Office, Corporation of Coimbatore, Coimbatore - 641001.

Secretary to Government
Thiru Shiv Das Meena IAS.,

Village Panchayats and Town Panchayats

A large part of the Coimbatore urban areas falls outside the control of Municipal corporation limits. In order to improve and develop of the city, these suburbs are governed by local bodies called the Village Panchayats and Town Panchayats. Further, the Coimbatore Urban Agglomeration comprises the town panchayats of Sulur, Kannampalayam, Chinna Thadagam, Veerapandi, Chettipalayam, Gudalur, Neelambur, Ashokapuram, Malumichampatti, Somayampalayam and much more. These local bodies are governed by a councillor appointed through direct election and the head of the local body is known as president.

List of Town Panchayat in Coimbatore

Annur Town Panchayat
Address: Mettupalayam Road Annur – 641653,
Coimbatore District
Phone Number: 04254 262278
Email ID: [email protected]

Anamalai Town Panchayat
Address: Pollachi Road, Anamalai -642104 Coimbatore District
Phone Number: 04253 282338
Email ID: [email protected]

Irugur Town Panchayat
Address: AG Pudur Road, Irugur - 642104
Coimbatore District
Phone Number: 0422 2627037
Email ID: [email protected]

Karumathamapatti Town Panchayat
Address: Somanur Bustand Opposite,
Somanur (Post) 641659 Coimbatore District  Phone Number: 0421 2333070
Email ID: [email protected]
    Free Listing